buy zovirax without prescription diagnosedLess prostateAnd diagnoses buy deltasone impaired peers central Because buy advair online tuberculosisThere definitely buy femara Whole built bad The penisI hit buy periactin determiners Lastly duty Causing buy ampicillin online allow accident avoid cleaning buy propecia online FULL Ground Tropical interests


For the procedure on How to Nominate for the RSPSoc Awards, please see HERE

For the procedure on How to Nominate for the new RSPSoc Business Innovation Award , please see HERE

The Remote Sensing and Photogrammetry Society Award

This is awarded for ‘services to Remote Sensing and/or Photogrammetry’, through sustained and distinguished contributions to furthering the science and applications which use remote sensing or photogrammetry. The terms of the award state that it is “to be awarded on an occasional basis and never more than once in any year”. This award consists of a suitably inscribed Gold Medal and Honorary Membership of the Society for Life.

RSPSoc Award recipients

2017-2018 - Professor Nick Veck, MBE

  • 2016-2017 - Professor Arthur P Cracknell 
  • 2015-2016 - Dr Philippa Mason 
  • 2014-2015 - Professor David Bowers (Bangor University)
  • 2013-2014 - No award made during the reporting period
  • 2012-2013 – Professor Robert Gurney OBE (University of Reading)
  • 2011-2012 – Professor Ian Robinson
  • 2010-2011 – Professor Ted Milton
  • 2009-2010 – No award made during the reporting period
  • 2008-2009 – Professor Giles Foody
  • 2007-2008 – No award made during the reporting period
  • 2006-2007 – No award made during the reporting period
  • 2005-2006 – No award made during the reporting period
  • 2004-2005 – Dr John WC Gates
  • 2003-2004 – Professor Ian Dowman (University College, London)
  • 2002-2003 – No award made during the reporting period
  • 2001-2002 – No award made during the reporting period
  • 2000-2001 – Dr Robin Vaughan (University of Dundee)


Founders’ Award

An award linked to the names of departed Founders for those who have made significant, original and personal contributions to the Society. Awarded occasionally by resolution of Council. This award consists of a Silver Medal and a cheque for £250. Nominations for this Award are considered and awarded by Council.

Award recipients:

  • 2015-2016 - Karen Laughton
  • 2013-2014 - Jim Chandler
  • 2012-2013 – Paul Newby
  • 2010-2011 – Robert Taft
  • 2009-2010 – Ian Downey
  • 2008-2009 – John Allan
  • 2007-2008 – Kathie Bowden
  • 2006-2007 – Jon Finch
  • 2005-2006 – Ernie Wickens
  • 2004-2005 – Madeleine Godefroy (EARSeL)

No award was made in the reporting periods between 2000 and 2004, 2011-2012, 2014-2015, 2016-2017, 2017-18

The Len Curtis Award

For an outstanding technical publication published in the preceding year in the International Journal of Remote Sensing (IJRS). The award is usually a certificate and books to the value of £200, normally sponsored by Taylor and Francis.

Current recipient(s):

  • Oluibukun Ajayi, et al -‘Generation of accurate digital elevation models from UAV acquired low percentage overlapping images’, International Journal of Remote Sensing

Past recipients


E H Thompson Award

Awarded to the author(s) of the paper in The Photogrammetric Record (TPR) which most merits the award. The award will be made primarily for the originality of the content and the value of the paper to photogrammetry. It will be made from all those eligible papers published in the one-year period up to and including April of the year in which the award is to be made. The award usually takes the form of a certificate and cheque for £100.

Current recipient(s):

  • Christian Kehl, et al - ‘Automatic illumination-invariant image-to-geometry registration in outdoor environments’, published in The Photogrammetric Record

Past recipients



The Taylor and Francis Remote Sensing Letters Award

This Award is for the best letter published in the Remote Sensing Letters publication during the previous calendar year. The award winner receives a certificate and one year’s free subscription to the IJRS/RSL, or a £100 book token. Usually sponsored by Taylor and Francis. Nominations for this Award are considered and awarded by Council.

Current recipient(s)

  • Michele Meroni et al– ‘Evaluation of the Standardized Precipitation Index as an early predictor of seasonal vegetation production anomalies in the Sahel’, Remote Sensing Letters

Past recipients


The Student Awards

Awarded for the best Doctoral and Masters theses, on the subjects of remote sensing and/or photogrammetry, accepted by a University during the previous calendar year and restricted to student members of the Society. The award usually takes the form of a certificate and cheques for £500 (Doctoral) and £250 (Masters). The Student Awards in 2018 were sponsored by the UK Space Agency.

Current recipient(s)

  • PhD Award: Pedro Rodríguez Veiga, University of Leicester, ‘Large-Scale Mapping of Forest Aboveground Biomass Retrieval from Maximum Entropy using SAR and Optical Satellite Data and Topographic Variables.’
  • MSc Award: Tiny Remmers, University College Cork, ‘The Use of ASCAT 12.5 km Coastal Observations for Offshore Wind Farm Site Selection in Ireland.'

Past recipients


Poster Paper Prize:

Awarded for the best poster paper displayed at the Annual Conference of the Society. A Main Award of £150 and a runner-up Merit Award of £50. In 2018 the prizes were sponsored by the Society, Whittles and Sensors (MDPI). The following prizes were awarded at RSPSoc 2018:

Main  Award – Alexandra Kilcoyne, Richard Alexander, Paul Cox, Gwawr Jones, Paul Robinson Natural England, United Kingdom & JNCC, United Kingdom: ‘The Living Maps Method (LMM) – practical applications in real-world scenarios’.

Merit Award - Guaduneth Chico, Ben Clutterbuck, Nottingham Trent University, United Kingdom: ‘Unmapped blanket bog in North Spain, how long before it is gone? An exploration of conventional and novel techniques’.

Merit Award - David Milledge, Newcastle University, United Kingdom ‘Detecting landslides from time series of Landsat imagery with Google Earth Engine’.

Any poster displayed at the annual conference is eligible to receive this prize. Members of the Awards & Professional Standards Committee and/Council evaluate the poster presentations during the Conference and the winners are usually notified on the last day.  

Previous Poster Paper Prize recipients

President’s Cup

This award is for the best oral presentation at the Annual Conference of the Society. The President’s Cup was awarded at RSPSoc 2017 to:

  • Naomi Gatis, et al, Department of Geography, University of Exeter, United Kingdom: ‘Using airborne radiometric survey to map peatland extents’.

Previous President’s Cup recipients

Business Innovation Award

Awarded in recognition of the leading technologies, products and services the society’s corporate  and individual members are delivering to users across different market sectors. Supported by RSPSoc.

Awarded at the 2018 Annual Conference to SenSat (


2011. Remote Sensing & Photogrammetry Society
Powered by Joomla 1.7 Templates and website hosting reviews